The WCRP Climate Research Forums are only possible because of the hard work and vision of our Regional Focal Points. The Regional Focal Points facilitate the exchange of information between WCRP and the climate research and support communities, stakeholders, and partners in their countries and regions. There are over 50 scientists from across the world who have been nominated as WCRP Regional Focal Points:

WCRP Regions*
1 Africa [Northern, Eastern, Middle, Southern, and Western]
2 South America
3 North [incl. Greenland] and Central America and the Caribbean

Oceania and Asia

  • Oceania [incl. Australia and NZ]
  • South-eastern Asia
  • Eastern Asia [China, Democratic People‚Äôs Republic of Korea, Japan, Mongolia, Republic of Korea]
  • Southern Asia [Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iran, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka]
5 Europe [Eastern, Northern, Southern, and Western] plus Western Asia

*Unless otherwise indicated, the individual nations in these regions follow the UN protocol (source)