The WIP is a WGCM subcommittee charged with coordinating infrastructure support for CMIP (see "Terms of Reference"). It works with projects funded to develop software and supporting infrastructure that facilitates access to and analysis of the CMIP model output. It defines specifications and standards that ensure model output is written in a common structure and format, and that it is archived and made accessible worldwide in a common way. More generally, the WIP provides guidance and oversees infrastructure development so that it will be fit for its purpose and meet the scientific needs of CMIP and other MIP projects.  

The WIP works closely with the WGCM CMIP Panel, which oversees the evolving design of the CMIP experiments and coordinates the various activities contributing to the science of CMIP.

The WIP maintains a website at

WIP panel members (as of June 2021)

Paul Durack (Co-chair) PCMDI/LLNL USA; 2017-; Co-chair 2021-
Matthew Mizielinski (Co-chair) Met Office, UK; 2018-; Co-chair 2020-
Sasha Ames LLNL, USA; 2019- ; CDNOT Co-chair 2021-
Yuqi Bai Tsinghua University, China; 2018-
Katharina Berger DKRZ, Germany 2021- ; CDNOT Co-chair 2021-
David Hassell NCAS, UK; 2019-
Martin Juckes STFC, UK; 2014-
Slava Kharin CCCma, Canada; 2014-
Andrea Lammert DKRZ, Germany 2021-
Grigory Nikulin SMHI, Sweden; 2021-
Martina Stockhause DKRZ, Germany; 2019-
Karl Taylor PCMDI/LLNL USA; 2014-; Co-chair 2014-2020
Eleanor O’Rourke CMIP IPO, UK; 2022-
Briony Turner CMIP IPO, UK; 2022-


Former members

Ghaleb Abdulla LLNL, USA 2019-2021; ESGF-XC Co-chair 2018-2021
V. Balaji Princeton/GFDL, USA; Co-chair 2014-2019
Luca Cinquini NASA, USA; 2014-2019
Cecilia Deluca NOAA, USA; 2014-2019
Sébastien Denvil IPSL, France; 2014-2019; CDNOT Chair 2016-2019
Mark Elkington Met Office, UK, 2014-2017
Francesca Guglielmo IPSL, France; 2014-2022
Eric Guilyardi IPSL, France; 2014-2019
Michael Lautenschlager DKRZ, Germany; 2014-2021
Bryan Lawrence NCAS, UK; 2014-2019
Ruth Petrie NCAS, UK; 2019-2021; CDNOT Chair 2019-2021
Dean Williams LLNL, USA; 2014-2019