As part of our commitment to include all regions of the world into the co-production of the new WCRP, we will hold a series of regional and community consultations - Virtual Town Halls.

These will be online discussions where a presentation (the topics of which will vary and will be announced in advance) will be followed by a discussion and Q&A session. The aim of the Virtual Town Halls will be to exchange information and opportunities to further WCRP's vision, mission, and scientific objectives and provide a forum to engage with the broader community. The Virtual Town Halls are being held on a regional basis, organized by appointed Regional Focal Points. We will list the Regional Focal Points here as soon as they are finalized. 

The regions are:

WCRP Virtual Town Hall Regions*
1 Africa [Northern, Eastern, Middle, Southern, and Western]
2 South America
3 North [incl. Greenland] and Central America and the Caribbean

Oceania and Asia

  • Oceania [incl. Australia and NZ]
  • South-eastern Asia
  • Eastern Asia [China, Democratic People‚Äôs Republic of Korea, Japan, Mongolia, Republic of Korea]
  • Southern Asia [Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Iran, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka]
5 Europe [Eastern, Northern, Southern, and Western] plus Western Asia

*Unless otherwise indicated, the individual nations in these regions follow the UN protocol (source)

Note that, regardless of the time zone you are in, you are welcome to attend any of the calls.

More information on upcoming Town Halls will be provided as the dates are set. To get all of the updates please subscribe to the WCRP climate future email list on the connect page.