CRYOSPHERE & CLIMATE | ATMOSPHERIC CHEMISTRY & DYNAMICS  
ATMOSPHERE, OCEANS & CLIMATE | WATER, ENERGY & CLIMATE  
  
   

The WCRP Governance

Scientific guidance for the WCRP is provided by the Joint Scientific Committee, consisting of 18 scientists selected by mutual agreement between the three sponsoring organizations and representing climate-related disciplines in atmospheric, oceanic, hydrological and cryospheric sciences. Implementation of WCRP's programme takes place through the Joint Planning Staff (JPS) in Geneva and Paris, in the International Project Offices (IPOs) and co-opted contributors from many agencies. Each project has a Scientific Steering Group (SSG; see 'Activities & Projects'). An Agreement among our three sponsors defines the WCRP's Objectives and the JSC's Terms of Reference (see Agreement).


The most recent JSC annual meeting (JSC-33) was held in Beijing, China, 17-20 July 2012. An extraordinary session of the JSC was held in Boulder, Colorado, USA, 29-30 October 2011, following the WCRP Open Science Conference

Joint Scientific Committee for WCRP

Chair

Professor Antonio J. Busalacchi
Oceanography
ESSIC, University of Maryland, USA
E-mail: tonyb@essic.umd.edu 

(Please see welcome statement from Chair, JSC)

busalacchi

Vice-Chair

Dr Vladimir M. Kattsov
High Altitude Climate, Climate Modelling
Voeikov Main Geophysical Observatory, Russia
E-mail: kattsov@main.mgo.rssi.ru

Members:
Prof. Stephen Belcher
Climate System
Met Office Hadley Centre, UK
E-mail: stephen.belcher@metoffice.gov.uk 
Prof. Guy P. Brasseur
Climate Services
Helmholtz-Zentrum Geestacht, Germany
E-mail:  gpbrasseur@gmail.com 
Dr. Anny Cazenave
Sea-Level Change
LEGOS, France
E-mail: anny.cazenave@legos.obs-mip.fr 
Dr Sarah Gille (Officer)
Ocean Circulation
Scripps Institution of Oceanography, USA
E-mail:
sgille@ucsd.edu 
Dr Filippo Giorgi
Regional Climate Modelling
Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical
Physics (ICTP), Italy
E-mail: giorgi@ictp.it
Prof. Bhupendra N. Goswami
Monsoons, Tropical Dynamics, Climate Modelling
Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology
E-mail: goswami@tropmet.res.in
Prof. Kang In-Sik
Seasonal Prediction and Monsoons, Climate Modelling
Seoul National University, Rep. of Korea
E-mail: kang@climate.snu.ac.kr
Dr Hong Liao
Atmospheric Chemistry, Air Quality
Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
E-mail: hongliao@mail.iap.ac.cn
Dr Rodney G. Martinez Guingla
Global and Regional Models and Applications
CIIFEN, Ecuador
E-mail: r.martinez@ciifen.org
Dr Mauricio M. Mata
Climate and Oceans
FURG, Brazil
E-mail: mauricio.mata@furg.br
Professor Teruyuki Nakajima (Officer)
Clouds and Aerosols
University of Tokyo, Japan
E-mail: teruyuki.nakajima@aori.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Dr Graciela L. Binimelis de Raga
Aerosols, Radiation-Climate
Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
E-mail: graciela.raga@gmail.com
Dr James Renwick
Climate System
Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
E-mail: james.renwick@vuw.ac.nz

Dr Frederick Semazzi
Regional Modelling, African Climate, Climate Applications
North Carolina State University, USA
E-mail: fred_semazzi@ncsu.edu

Dr Soroosh Sorooshian
Hydrology and Water Cycle
Uni. California, Irvine, USA
E-mail: soroosh@uci.edu
Dr Pius Yanda
Climate Adaptation-Policy
University of Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
E-mail: pyanda@gmail.com

 

International Project Offices

 

CliC International Project Office
Tromsø, Norway
E-mail:  info@climate-cryosphere.org
Web: http://www.climate-cryosphere.org/

International CLIVAR Project Office
Southampton, United Kingdom
E-mail: icpo@noc.soton.ac.uk
Web: http://www.clivar.org

International GEWEX Project Office
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
E-mail: gewex@gewex.org
Web: http://www.gewex.org/

SPARC International Project Office
Zurich, Switzerland
E-mail: office@sparc-climate.org
Web: http://www.sparc-climate.org/

 

 

^
TO TOP

Last update: 12.12.2012 - [webmaster]
Site powered by WMO and IPSL-WCRP Support Unit (France)